Three Books to read from Net Galley

We all know offers superb titles for readers from writers and publishers across the world. I have been following for quite a time but have failed to read a single title and review it in past few weeks. But I love going through the new titles and their elegant book covers. Here are three books publishing this month that you should go check and read from

The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone

For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, meet debut author’s Max Wirestone character Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she’s not living her best life. But that’s all about to change.

The Clasp by Sloane Crosley

Part comedy of manners, part treasure hunt, another debut novel, looks promising and I am definitely going to get my hands on it.

Al the Things We Never Knew by Sheila Hamilton

All the Things We Never Knew takes readers from David and Sheila’s romance through the last three months of their life together and into the year after his death. It details their unsettling descent from ordinary life into the world of mental illness, and examines the fragile line between reality and madness.

BOOK REVIEW: South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami

Nothing gives me more pleasure these days than reading Haruki Murakami’s words blend in a story which might constitute of fantastical world along with realism. There are not much books left written by him that I haven’t read such that I can count on my fingers, the remaining titles now. A whole weekend is more than enough to finish exploring a new account of Murakami’s realism.

The story is woven of Hajime, a 37-year-old owner of two jazz clubs, married with two kids and seemingly happy in a relationship with his wife. He recollects memories of his childhood, early teenage days, being a twelve-year-old, falling for a wise girl in his class who was inflicted with polio, and shared memories with her. Reality takes over in one of the jazz bar he owns, the girl whom he was dreaming of in his memories is in front of him, full of mystery.  Continue reading

Nominated for One Lovely Blog Award

Recently, a blog-friend of mine, Lee nominated from for One Lovely Blog Award. I  thank him for it. I have been nominated for a few similar blogging awards in past recent years, but I have never taken the pain to accept them and nominate other fellow bloggers of mine. I don’t usually do them. Well, this time I thought, what the heck,  let’s write a post about it. I tried to find the origin of this award on Google, but there were no satisfactory results. If anyone knows do tell me. I would like to credit the person/blogger, who started this.

The Rules for accepting the Award(s)
  • Thank and link back to the awesome person who nominated you
  • Share 7 things about yourself
  • Nominate 15 other bloggers and comment on their blogs to let them know.

Well, here I go.

Seven things. 7 things about me. Mmm… Looks harder when I come to think about specifically seven things. The number also reminds of a very fine movie, Seven, a thriller and crime-fic, starring Morgan Freeman and Kevin Spacey. Let’s put aside the gibberish and talk about me.

  • I am a Football Manager (yes, you can call it soccer too) addict. And the addiction is a never ending one. It has been six years, I have played every recent version, with every possible team that I can think of, and spent countless hours and sleepless nights on this game.
  • I don’t have a favourite colour.
  • I don’t listen to music until I am driving a car or I am travelling. I can’t read while travelling ’cause a wave of nausea engulfs me if I do.
  • I never had a pet. Though I would love to pet a cat.
  • I am a vegetarian.
  • I can sleep for 20 hours a day non-stop.
  • I am too passionate about logic and puzzles.

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW: The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction by Alan Jacobs

There is no better person who understands a reader than Alan Jacobs. And he does well describe that in his book The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction. Alan Jacobs is a Distinguished Professor of Humanities in the Honors Program at Baylor University in Texas, USA. He is a prolific author, having written about a dozen books and countless articles for various scholarly periodicals and magazines. He wrote Pleasures of Reading for those who have given up on reading for various reasons, but I think most prominently because of the nature of the world we now live in, a world full of distractions.

Distractions are everywhere, smartphone lying on desk, the television in the other room, the computer screen you are staring right now, intact a distraction is just a mouse-click away from you right now. I assume, after reading this post, you will click on the new tab and WELCOME! To the World of Distractions.

In contrast to the more methodical approach of Mortimer Adler’s classic How to Read a Book, Jacobs offers an insightful, accessible, and playfully irreverent guide for aspiring readers. Each chapter focuses on one aspect of approaching literary fiction, poetry, or nonfiction, and the book explores everything from the invention of silent reading, reading responsively, rereading, and reading on electronic devices. One page at a time, or one book a week, doesn’t matter as long as you are reading. Continue reading

September- Monthly Recap

Book Reviews:


Author Interviews:

Shweta Taneja


Reading Books in the Digital Age

Guest Post:

How Numbers Can Tell Stories by Aubrey Leaman

Book Lists:

5 Books to Feed Your Brain

Five Books to Read in Gothic fiction

BOOK REVIEW: The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz


GirlSpidersWeb_Poster_F_OPT copyA few critics are claiming the new addition in Stieg Larsson’s famous Millennium Trilogy, The Girl in the Spider’s Web as controversial. Written by David Lagercrantz who previously had two titles named under him: a non-fiction and a fiction, both translated in English language. Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy is a huge success worldwide and adaptions are already out there. The previous three novels are gripping, rich in thrill, and intelligent. One who has read any of the three, knows very well what I am trying to express here. And he must be excited about this new addition.

There were no pre-review copies or excerpts of this novel, The Girl in the Spider’s Web. It was released earlier this month. Like countless readers, I have been waiting to get my hands on it, find out myself the standard set by Larsson, will it be matched? Of course not! Stieg Larsson’s writing is exceptional. The way he conveyed his ideas in those three books, only he could do it. Though, as a writer of this book, David Lagercrantz does a good job in maintaining those characters, putting some more insight which continues to make the Millennium trilogy interesting.

The Girl in the Spider’s Web looks deeper in the world of hackers as it is all about them. It share a similar starting point as The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Mikael Blomqvist’s is in search of a story, a cover story, and the situation is an intense one. From the previous three books, we learned that the pierced Lisbeth Salander was a formidable hacker, and in a world of warring hackers, she is the unquestioned genius. Continue reading

GUEST POST: How Numbers Can Tell Stories by Aubrey Leaman

How Numbers Can Tell Stories

by Aubrey Leaman

So let’s talk about math! I know, I know…as readers we tend to hate math, right?  But Francie Nolan (from Betty Smith’s novel, “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn”) has a passion for both words and numbers and in fact combines the two in creative ways: 
“When Francie added a sum, she would fix a little story to go with the result…The figure 1 was a pretty baby girl just learning to walk, and easy to handle…Each single combination of numbers was a new set-up for the family and no two stories were ever the same.”  
When I read this passage (of which I’ve only quoted a small amount here), I was blown away by the wonder and magic of it all.  In effect, Francie is like a Victor Frankenstein who imbues life into the meaningless, dead conglomeration of body parts around him.  Now those numbers that were once “dead” are living and breathing people who have unique personalities and ways of life!
Then when she adds these numbers/people together, depending on what numbers she’s using and what number she ends up with, she imagines a story: “If the answer was 924, it meant that the little boy and girl were being minded by company while the rest of the family went out.”  The whole thing is a lot like the joke that asks why 6 is afraid of 7 (because 7 8 9)—but on steroids.  

Continue reading