classics, Fiction, Reviews

REVIEW FOR THE JAZZ: THE GREAT GATSBY

The Great Gastby    Review by Aman Mittal

THE GREAT GATSBY

by F.Scott Fitzgerald

I read the book over the last weekend and spent quite a time as it length would not suggest. Some would say its a tragic love story with crime and corrupted minds. But I say its a very close resemblance to Fitzgerald’s own life, especially his struggle for his own love. That is the main theme. The story starts with Nick Carraway’s narration when he visits his cousin, Daisy. Nick, is an exceptionally mild person to the point of being dull. But through this narration framed in the thoughts of an exceedingly dull person Fitzgerald creates characters and lays out scenes that are vivid and bright and engaging.

By coincidence or by luck, Jay Gatsby, the lavish millionaire who throws extravagant parties to celebrate his wealth, is the neighbor of Nick. The story intertwines with Nick’s cousin Daisy Buchanan who is Gatsby’s long lost first love and still the object of his desire, Daisy’s husband Tom Buchanan who is having an affair with Myrtle Wilson.

It’s a mild story and the gripping depends all on the reader mind. With insignificant complexity the plot is an impressive display of analysis through rhetoric.

There are some similarities between the author Fitzgerald and the character Gatsby. Both had the opportunities to attend world’s most prestigious universities, Princeton and Oxford, but failed to graduate either of them. Both also attended the army. These are some insignificant similarities, though.

But the analogousness between them is the love of their lives. Both of them fell in love being young and neither of them could provide what their ladies, Zelda and Daisy, wanted. Both of these ladies were highly interested in money, and terminated their relationships. In Gatsby’s case, Daisy promised to wait but instead dated many men and married Tom Buchanan. In Scott’s case, he was engaged to Zelda and he went to New York seeking fortune but his plans took longer than expected. Thus, Zelda broke their engagement. It was not until the first book which made him rich enough to marry Zelda.

Both Daisy and Zelda resemble each other. They both were unloyal to their respective lovers. Gatsby’s struggle to get back his love fully resembles the struggle Scott might have experienced.

But as story needs to have an ending, Fitzgerald wrote down one possibility of his own love life could have ended or in other words the ending.

I quite like the story and the way it is written. It is, no doubt, one of the American Classics.

“In his blue gardens men and girls came and went like moths among the whisperings and the champagne and the stars.”

16 thoughts on “REVIEW FOR THE JAZZ: THE GREAT GATSBY”

  1. “It’s a mild story and the gripping depends all on the reader mind” – you said what I couldn’t get across in my review. It really is a mild story, the pace never steps up. I feel a second read would definitely give me more enjoyment

    Like

  2. Thank you for this,I know the story ,even though I did not read the novel or watched the movie.Because of its sad ending,i did not watch or read it.Great to read your report.

    Like

  3. I recently read this. I particularly loved the setting with all the decadence and glamour but found it hard to have much sympathy for any of the characters. Not sure you were meant to like the characters. Still in the end I liked the book not loved it.

    Like

    1. It is not one of those books which leaves a reader having some affection towards characters. But I was still left in the end with a bit affection towards Gatsby due to his end. I actually feel, it happened because I watched the movie. The visual affects more.

      Like

  4. I’m reading The Great Gatsby now, and am interested in your review and people’s comments. I’ve seen the 1974 film and enjoyed it very much–such beautiful colors. And I’m liking the book, but I’m a reader who is very easy to please.

    Like

    1. I am glad you are reading it. It is highly recommended by me to everyone, I know of. I also have seen the 1974 film, it was somewhat picturesque! Did you watch the new one?
      I’m sure you will like this one. Hey do tell me your views when you finish reading it! 🙂

      Like

  5. A favourite of mine, you do well to draw out the parallels with Fitzgerald’s own life. I was struck by the book as a tragedy of a search for deeper meaning and truth (Gatsby encapsulates it in romantic love) in a superficial age. Gatsby’s tragedy is that Daisy does not share his romantic ideals and is content to skate on the surface. Also a comment on the American Dream and its illusions

    Like

  6. I like the links you found between Gatsby and Mr. Fitzgerald. I also admit that love is quite an important part of the narration. However, what impressed me the most when I read this book was the enormous loneliness of the protagonist. To me, it’s not really about parties, the 20’s, crimes… not even about love. In fact, I think it is the novel of solitude par excellence. A truly special piece of great literature. It is also thrilling to discover the references of it in ‘Norwegian Wood’ by Haruki Murakami.

    Like

Any thoughts?

