Books, Essay

365 DAYS, 77 BOOKS! NOW NEW RECOMMENDATIONS

The year 2013 is ending pretty fast for me. Only two days and 40 minutes left. Earlier this year, from day 1, I set a target for myself. Target to read 100 books in 365 days. But I guess, I could not complete it. It was a battle against time, and only a time lord could have won. I am no time lord. But I am happy also, as I could read 28 more books than the last year. So somehow, it is an achievement for me too. This year has been a wonderful reading year for me. I feel I have grown as reader, as my knowledge and my ability to understand and grab literature has grown. Reading is beneficial, always. And I got to realize the fact a lot more this year when I took my writing seriously, I was kind of fortunate to my reading habit. Oscar Wilde once said, “There are only good books and bad books”, and I’d like to add something to this wonderful and truthful saying, ‘It’s essential to read a book, and then only you can judge if it is good or bad. It is also essential to judge a book good or bad to develop a strong ability of understanding and expressing your judgment. With knowing the difference between good or bad only, you cannot decide (especially if you’re a writer) what is good or what is bad’. I do read some badly written books. Some of them do have good plot and structure, but then they lack something here and there. Few of them, I dislike, because the unorganized plot. But the good books, well they are good, plot development is one reason or characterization development is good, et cetera. Do become a better reader, a reader must have the experience of both good and bad and reading

Here is snapshot of number of books I read this year. Of course, this does not include the number of text books I read!

Goodreads

 

I might complete the current book I am reading, A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, but I am not sure. It’s a classic, and alongside reading it, I want to enjoy each and every word written by Dickens. So the number can increase to 78, I am not sure.

Thus, I’ll end this post in Charles Dickens’ words to describe my reading year in one line,“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times”.

Any recommendation of books to read, would be appreciated.

5 thoughts on “365 DAYS, 77 BOOKS! NOW NEW RECOMMENDATIONS”

  1. Seems like you did a pretty good job. Hope you enjoyed everything you read. My goal was to finish writing my novel before Christmas, which I did…..yeaaahhh. I managed to read a little too.

    Like

  2. Re: suggestions for further reading. You may have read this already (I didn’t spot the cover of the copy I had in your snapshot of 2013 reads, but the computer I’m on is running very slowly so I didn’t try to enlarge the picture for a closer look) but one of my favourite reads this year was ‘the 100 year old man who climbed out of the window and disappeared’ by Jonas Jonasson.

    Like

Any thoughts?

