Books, Reviews

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Top Ten books of 2014

2014 has been a mixed bag year for me in reading. I have read a variety of authors, especially a lot of new authors this time, took non-fiction seriously and some interesting books on recommendations. My challenge to myself to read 100 books this year is on track and so far, as the year comes to half, I have read 49 books.

My 2014 goodreads.com Challenge, so far…

The challenge bar on the goodreads.com tells me that I am “one book ahead of the schedule” which means I am doing well. Thus, here  I am evaluating ten best reads I had so far in the year.

 

10. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

Winner of Man Booker Prize 2009, Wolf Hall is amazing story written surrealistically from the POV of Thomas Cromwell.  

9. The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum

An exciting thriller, unfolds the story of an identity-less man. If you like the movie, you will love this book. 

8. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

An important book in the history of man kind. Totally sci-fi and easy to visualize. True story which suites every era of man kind.

7. Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri

A good collection of stories. Some are very touching.

6. Saints of the Shadow Bible by Ian Rankin

Latest book in the series off John Rebus. A must read for all John Rebus’ fans.

5. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

The book is a YA. Unique and grasping. Won’t disappoint you. If you like Perks of Being Wallflower, you may end up loving this one.

4. The Love affairs of Nathaniel P. by Adelle Waldman

The plot is good but the writing is extra-ordinary. Has a bit touch of Jane Austen and George Eliot.

3. Unnatural Creatures by (Selected by) Neil Gaiman

One of the best anthologies I have read till date. This book is only meant to read in paperback for the beautifully grafted illustration for every story it has and also the ‘stories’ themselves. Not recommended in any electronic format. 

2. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

This one tells story of a genius, written by a genius. A must for any tech enthusiast.

1. And then there were none by Agatha Christie

The most thrilling, and vein popping book I have read this year. It’s short, will get over in no time and then you will be left with a long lasting kick effect in your mind.

24 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: Top Ten books of 2014”

  1. Looks like there are some more books I will have to check out! I have yet to read anything by Agatha Christie but now I think I may have to pick up her book

    Like

  2. And Then There Were None is still by far one of my favorite mysteries, and ugh, I want Unnatural Creatures on my bookshelf. But I seem to have run out of space again. Love Letters to the Dead intrigued me on cover design alone, so I might have to borrow that from the library.

    Like

  3. “…you will be left with a long lasting kick effect in your mind.”

    I felt the same way about Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451. I’ve never read Agatha Christie, but I might check this one out. Thanks for stopping by and liking my post, I can’t wait to read through more of your reviews! 🙂

    Like

  4. Congrats on the sheer volume of books! I have had six months off and still only managed half the number! Mind you, I think 3 George RR Martin novels count as (at least) 2 each.
    Thanks for popping by my site – all the best.

    Like

Any thoughts?

