Books, Fiction, Reviews

BOOK REVIEW: Fight Club by Chuck Palahnuik

The first rule of the fight club is that you don’t talk about the fight club. Yet, I guess to honor this book with a review, I have to talk about the FIGHT CLUB.

I remember watching the movie a long time back but do not remember when and why I added this book in my TBR list. Let bygones be bygones, so now that I have read it, I can surely tell you few things about.

In his debut novel, Chuck Palahnuik, with some black humor tells a story about an unnamed narrator who suffers from insomnia and seems had enough and feels jaded towards his radical monotonous life. He tries to do differ to transform his life into something gratifying by joining cancer support groups on a regular basis. Meeting people who are on the brink of their deaths does not gratifies him or his life. Then until one day he meets Tyler Durden, his life transforms at a faster rate.

Tyler Durden, who comes up with the idea of Fight Club––a group that secretly meets in the basements of bars and holds fights. Soon our narrator becomes highly intimated by Tyler Durden that his knowledge expands and he knows everything Tyler knows.

I tried really hard to get along with this book, but at some point or the other it did disappoint me. In Palahnuik’s technique it is clear that the author is under the influence of other authors like Bret Easton Ellis, and (might be) many more. I don’t know, I haven’t read much of this type of writing, and that is not a bad thing I guess to be under someone’s influence. I think if you are working on a piece under someone’s influence and that piece comes out as a fine product, why not!

The downside of this book is the much pessimism used that does not have a thrilling effect. I mean, there is American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis which is a pessimist but the technique used in that book and the technique used by Palahnuik in his book, there is a lot of difference in them. In case of American Psycho, the plot was totally cultivated with some twists to blow off a reader. The plot of Fight Club is adaptable and nurturing. Soon as the turning of the pages becomes a habit of the reader, the end becomes predictable as the author run out of tricks to strike a suspense. With not much twisting it becomes as monotonous as the life of unnamed narrator before the start of the Fight Club.

3 out of 5

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Fight Club by Chuck Palahnuik”

  1. I think Fight Club might be one of those books someone would put on the TBR list because of how well the movies were executed, then to eventually realize that the book is completely different from what’s expected. I haven’t yet read it, but the closest example to this for me was Life of Pi. I loved the movie, but not so much the book itself. I guess there are exceptions to “the book is so much better than the movie” saying.

    Like

  2. Well there are always some exceptions. The movie was fascinating to me but I watched it a long time back when I was a teenager. I have watched The life of Pi but haven’t read the book though the movie was good.

    Like

  3. “An American Haunting.” No sure if you’ve ever seen the movie, but as far as horror films go, it has a logical trajectory with a sort of schadenfreude-esque resolution.

    I remember seeing THAT little book in the store, and after seeing the movie, thought the book must be better.

    Without disclosing too much, the film’s house haunter was a voiceless, swirling vortex of anger and wrath. Quite frightening.

    In the book, the ghost is having full-on conversations, making jokes, and generally reading like a sketch from carol Burnett.

    Like

    1. I think I’ll try both. I am not a fan of horror though but I like to experience thrill from time to time. 🙂

      It happens, sometimes, a film or adaption is better than a book. But sometimes both book and the adaption are appreciable. One example is Wuthering Heights the book by Emily Bronte and the adaption by BBC starring Tom Hardy. Both are exceptionally well!

      Like

Any thoughts?

