Books, Non-Fiction, Reviews

BOOK REVIEW: Lincoln the Unknown by Dale Carnegie

Lincoln the UnknownLincoln the Unknown by Dale Carnegie

I read this book last week when I was in that desperate mood to read about someone extraordinary. And whatever I have heard about Abraham Lincoln before, it did motivate me to pick him up. Thus, I found this book written by Dale Carnegie called Lincoln The Unknown. In past, I have read about Carnegie’s obsession with Abe Lincoln and I thought his written words on his favorite personality might satisfy my desperation.
To some extent, it did. I started this book expecting more about Lincoln’s childhood and adolescent years. I was curious to know how Lincoln was in his youth. His struggles, and how did he cop up with them. But this book gives just enough insight on his tough years of adolescence.

This book also provides sufficient detail of his failed love life and troubles in marriage. Carnegie illustrates Lincoln through a thoughtful narration and try to give insights more on his personality rather than ‘what happened when’. At some point, I did feel that the author was a bit too biased or obsessed over the personality as he only gave an overview of some particular situations in his narration where I felt that proper and in depth accountancy should be given if we are talking about Abraham Lincoln. In between, some facts are state before their occurrence in the particular time line and this exhibits the fact that the text is not so well arranged, to some extent.

The author also give enough detail on Mary Todd, Stephen Douglas and in the end chapters, John Wilkes Booth. I don’t mind being introduce to some more personalities when reading about a great one already but too much of insight on those is irrelevant while not concentrating on the main person. Mary Todd is one example, in this book. The author emphasizes Mary Todd’s irrational behaviors to great extent. Although, this information might have been more suitable if the author had given more insight on the person on whom the book is about.

Overall, the book’s an average read and cover facts to son extent but don’t consider it as the book that gives in-depth perception on Abe Lincoln.

3 out of 5!

View all my reviews on Goodreads.com

11 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Lincoln the Unknown by Dale Carnegie”

  1. yes we readers need something to get us out of the slumps – changed over from lots of mind and psychology books to novels and slowed down my reading too.

    I’ve always enjoyed your reviews and this one is no exception.

    Like

  2. Hello there! This article couldn’t be written much better!
    Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I will send this article
    to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Wow, awesome blog layout! How lengthy have you been running a blog for?

    you make running a blog glance easy. The entire glance of your website is magnificent, as neatly as the content material!

    Like

Any thoughts?

