Books betiding into Movies in 2015- Part 1

This post is especially dedicated to my not so book-loving-but-movie-loving friends. I’m concluding a list below of books that are turning into movies this year. I want you to read them before you watch them. Every year many of the movies that I watch and like are surprisingly based on books. I always like the idea of reading a book that is soon turning into a movie. After reading the book, when the movie comes out, I compare the visualisation shown in the movie with my imaginary visualisation of that book.

Insurgent

Release Date: March 20 | Watch Trailer

Divergent Series fan, mark your calendars. I remember watching it, I felt it did a good job even though I am not a fan of the series.

Serena

Release Date: March 27 | Watch Trailer

 Newlyweds George and Serena move from Boston to North Carolina in 1929 to start a timber business. The pair is ruthless in building their empire, and when Serena finds out that she can’t have children, she sets out to kill George’s illegitimate son. Characters will be played by Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper. 

True Story

Release Date: April 10 | Watch Trailer

In True Story: Murder, Memoir, Mea Culpa, a former New York Times writer recounts his bizarre downfall. As he was about to be fired for fabricating details on a big story, Finkel learned that an arrested mass murderer named Christian Longo had posed as Finkel while he was on the run. Starring Jonah Hill and James Franco.

Far From the Madding Crowd

Release Date: May 1 | Watch Trailer

I read this mesmerising book last year and I cannot express how I excited I am to see an adaption so early.

A young woman named Bathsheba Everdene has to deal with the difficult, sometimes tragic consequences of being in relationships with three different suitors at the same time. Starring Carey Mulligan.

Paper Towns

Release Date: June 19

I read the book the previous year, and found it average. The Fault in Our Stars author Green tells the story of Q and Margo, childhood friends united by a mystery.

Black Mass

Release Date: Sept. 18

I haven’t read this one, but I have certainly added it to my TBR list as it sounds highly interesting to me. he true crime novel follows the infamous mobster Whitey Bulger, the head of the Irish mob in the ’70s, and his relationship with childhood friend John Connolly, who grew up to work for the FBI. Starring Johnny Depp, Joel Edgerton, Benedict Cumberbatch, Kevin Bacon. Hmm… Reason to see the movie is to see how well that combination works out.

The Light Between Oceans

Release Date: Nov. 25

A lighthouse keeper and his wife discover a baby and a dead body near their home off the coast of Australia after WWI. Starring Michael Fassbender.

The Martian

Release Date: Nov. 25

I am definitely going to watch this one because when I read this book it was such a wonderful thing to read. Andy Weir did a great job with the book, and now I hope Ridley Scott does a great job too with the movie.

PS: Matt Damon plays Mark Watney on the screen.


Well there are so many of them such that I have decided to divide this post into parts. Stay tuned, and look out for the next post “Books betiding into Movies in 2015- Part 2”.

16 thoughts on “Books betiding into Movies in 2015- Part 1

  1. I didn’t realize that Paper Towns was going to be a movie. I assumed they would do Looking for Alaska first. Not sure why. Out of this list I will probably read Paper Towns before it comes out. I haven’t seen Divergent yet because I wanted to read the book first and have yet to make it to that part of my “to read” list.

    Like

  2. I missed the first Divergent movie (or did I?), but I’ve read one of the books. Well written, but it’s yet another dystopian epic for young readers–a la “Hunger Games” and “Maze Runners”–and the burgeoning crop of such books and movies makes me wonder what they’re trying to tell the next generation.

    Like

  3. Out of all the movies you list here I’m most anticipating The Martian. I really hope they don’t make it too Hollywoody.
    Some of the other films you name also sound intriguing, I hadn’t heard of them before so thank you for this post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts?

