Books, Reviews

Stephen King on Reading

Earlier, in a post called, Stephen King On Writing, I discussed what Stephen King advices young and aspiring writers to take care of. He has a lot more to say on reading, and yes, according to his On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft which is a part memoir, part writing manual, a volume revealing some practical views of the writer’s craft, comprising the basic tools of the trade every writer must have. This book is essential for both who love to read and write or who love Stephen King.

King explains how reading is the foundation of becoming a writer:

If you want to be a writer, you must do two things love all others: read a lot a write a lot.

 

King then explains that reading book is the most important part, whether it’s good or bad, it will help you to improve your skill:

Every book you pick has its own lesson or lessons and quite often bad books have more to teach than the good ones.

King and his work space

His advice on carrying books, wherever you go:

Books are the perfect entertainment: no commercials, no batteries, hours of enjoyment for each dollar spent. What I wonder is why everybody doesn’t carry a book for those inevitable dead spots in life.

Lastly, reading and writing a book, both go hand in had with each other:

Reading will help you answer how much, and only reams of writing will help you with how. You can learn only by doing.

13 thoughts on “Stephen King on Reading”

  1. I know I have already spammed your last post on Stephen King, but I have to spam this one as well. I seriously love this man. I think I could actually start a cult using his advice. lol The first quote you mentioned is what got me out of a slump a few years ago. I was having trouble writing, but it was because I wasn’t reading.

    Like

  2. Every time I think I know in which box to place Stephen King, I learn something else about him and he no longer fits. One of the surprising things I learned was that he is so much more than a horror writer. I started reading his writing memoir and found it offered great advice. Thanks for this post which reminds me I need to pick it up again.

    Like

Any thoughts?

