Book List

5 Classics I read in 2015

To know what an ultimate pleasure sometimes a book written at least a hundred years before, or more, is known only to those who read them. There is a reason why these books are still surviving, generations after generations. Thus, here are five classics book that I read this year and I think are worth taking a look again.

Middlemarch is George Eliot’s magnum opus. The 800 page novel, it took me almost 9 days to finish reading it. Eliot’s writing is witty and sublime. This book examines multiple themes such as the role of education in the lives of characters and how it affects them. And as Virginia Woolf said, “The magnificent book that, with all its imperfections, is one of the few English novels written for grown-up people.”

My Rating: 4 out of 5

Macbeth by William Shakespeare is an intriguing tale.

My Rating 4 out of 5

The semiautobiographical Martin Eden is the most vital and original character Jack London ever created. Set in San Francisco, this is the story of Martin Eden, an impoverished seaman who pursues, obsessively and aggressively, dreams of education and literary fame.

My Rating 4 out of 5

This short book will make you feel things in mere words. Of Mice and Men is a rare American novel.

 My Rating 4 out of 5

You can go on reading books after books for fifteen days or you can read Tolstoy’s undoubtedly masterpiece: War and Peace.

  My Rating 5 out of 5

25 thoughts on “5 Classics I read in 2015”

    1. I just started listening to it as an audio book! It’s about sixty hours read aloud, which is quite a while, although the audio book reader I have allows me to increase the speed a little bit. At 1.25x actual recording speed I’m not straining to follow the action and it’s only 48 hours of reading. Have about 44 of them left.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Audio books don’t work for everybody, and don’t work for every book. But I’ve found them very good especially for those sprawling 19th century authors. The endless digressions they’d get into come across more as someone being chatty instead, at least to me. And the books that were written as serial installments have these natural tension hooks that make for fun clashes with how long the drive is.

        Like

      2. Right. The audiobook is all about narration I guess. I love to hear an audiobook when I am reading a Shakespeare’s play as they are different narrators assigned to each character. I tried that with Merchant of Venice.

        Like

  1. Great list! I had BIG plans to read 12 classics (that I had never read before) as part of Reading the Classics Challenge in 2015. Alas, I only read 4 classics in this year:

    January: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
    February: Dracula by Bram Stoker
    March: Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
    April: Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

    Ah well. I’ll aim to finish that list in 2016. And blog about it too! 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s been a long time since I read Middlemarch, but I really enjoyed it. Also read Of Mice and Men for school in high school (back in the old days). Haven’t read the others, though I’m tempted to give War and Peace a try sometime.

    Like

  3. Whew this is some solid reading. And considering they’re all classics and I’ve read none of them I need to add them in the TBR list. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. As a reader you either enjoy the rhythm of the writing in the classics or you don’t, and therefore don’t like them and don’t read them. I love them, although i get stuck when it comes to come to some of Dickens’ novels. I am at the moment reading Anna Karenina, so far it has taken me about a month to read, with other books along the way, about 100 pages to go and I am loving it, but not rushing it.

    Like

    1. You are right. It’s one’s own choice I believe. Reading is a matter of choice and it is of flexible in that sense. Do tell me how was Anna Karenina. I have a copy, bought it a few years ago at some second hand book shop but the copy’s back cover and some blank pages are burnt so it makes me more exciting to have it.

      Like

Any thoughts?

