5 Books on “Writers and Writing” I read in 2015

Today’s book list is based on the “art of writing” which I have read this year.

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

I know, most of you know about this one, and I regard this book as one of the best on the art of writing I have read so far.

My Rating 5 out of 5!

To learn about the craft of writing is from the masters. Process: The Writing Lives of Great Authors does provide some insight on writers such as Ernest Hemingway, Zadie Smith, Joan Didion, Franz Kafka, David Foster Wallace, and more.

My Rating 4 out of 5

The book, How Proust Can Change Your Life has the most fascinating subject: Marcel Proust.

My Rating 4 out of 5

David Foster Wallace is one of the authors whom I have discovered this year and I can tell you, he has a lot to teach about writing in his own peculiar way. Lucky Lipsky got to spent some days with him and filed an account in Although of Course you end up Becoming Yourself.

My Rating 3 out of 5

Why We Write by Meredith Maran is similar novel to Process: The Writing Lives of Great Authors but concentrates more on contemporary authors such David Baldacci, Sue Grafton, Mary Karr, Jodi Picoult, Ann Patchett and many.

My Rating 3 out of 5

4 thoughts on “5 Books on “Writers and Writing” I read in 2015

  1. Wow. I expected to know all the books on your list, but the only one I’ve read is Bird By Bird. I’ll have to look for these! Thanks!

    Like

Any thoughts?

