Authors, Books

Remembering Harper Lee

     

Last year, at this time I was excited on getting to know that Harper Lee’s getting her second book published: “Got Set a Watchmen“, which I found an average piece of tale in comparison to her previous and only work: “To Kill a Mockingbird“. There is an impression left in the mind of a reader who mingles with Lee’s words in To Kill a MockingbirdThat impression is hard to describe in exact words (or  a sentence, if you prefer) since it has many forms. One form is Atticus Finch.

After reading about her death, earlier in February, I went back to “To Kill a Mockingbird” (or TKAM if you prefer), certainly to read out some memorable lines of words that I would like recall here.

You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.

People generally see what they look for, and hear what they listen for.

Likewise there are lines in this book one can quote from on several occasions while mingling with his daily activities. The normal or as I love to call, ordinary human perception has been put into simple words by Lee.

Mockingbirds don’t do one thing but make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corncribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.

But one quote that made me write this post which you are right now reading is this one. I call this one, the innocence of a Mockingbird quote.

 

17 thoughts on “Remembering Harper Lee”

  1. I came to To Kill a Mockingbird later than most, but it is such a wonderful book! I haven’t been able to bring myself to read Go Set a Watchman because I just know I will be disappointed.

    Like

  2. I loved TKMB. I loved the way it was told and everything about it. I am now reading Go Set a Watchman and really haven’t formed an impression yet. But nothing takes away from her original work.

    Like

  3. I have to be honest. I have not read To Kill A Mockingbird. I was supposed to read it in high school, but I so hated when people told me what I was supposed to read. I have always loved to read, but when a teacher handed me a book and said “read it” I fought it until the end. I passed the test only by listening to the discussions in class. But so many people love this book and I am almost tempted enough to add it to my list. I just purchased The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton and The Lord of the Flies by William Golding. Both I should have read in school but again, just listened to the discussions. I feel like my rebellion caused me to miss out on some really great books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never believe there’s a perfect time yet sometimes you have to let a book go to without reading it such that it will come back when you really feel like reading it. That’s just our subconscious mind. I still haven’t read Lord of Flies.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I finally read Lord of the Flies in January. It was one of those books I had started and quit before but now, I love it. It’s an excellent story if you can get through it. The ratio of narrative to dialogue is overwhelming but after a while, you’ll get past that.
        That being said I have 2 copies of TKAM but still haven’t read it as an adult. Needless to say, it’s on my TBR list

        Like

      2. Thanks for such an in-depth overview of a book. Lord of Flies is on my TBR and I guess I will have to pick it sooner than later.
        I believe TKAM is an essential read for any person in this time frame we are part of.

        Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts?

