Authors, Interviews

Author Interview: Aditi Bose

Aditi Bose

THE WRITING PART

Q. Thank you for agreeing to this interview. Briefly, about yourself?

I’m a mother, a foodie, a traveller, a dreamer, an author, a book reviewer, a blogger. Phew! Too many things 🙂

Q. What genre is/are your book(s)?

Romance. And then more romance.

Q. What draws you to this genre?

It’s the most complicated and the most beautiful emotion to write about.

Q. Briefly, what led up to last book? Also, Please describe what the story/book is about in one sentence.

I wrote the last book when I was going through a tough phase in my life. When I started writing, I was clueless what the story would be about. It was more of “Let me write because it keeps my mind from thinking of sad thoughts.”

My Dream Man‘ is about changing relationship between a student and her teacher.

Q. What was the time frame for writing your last book?

I finished half the book in a few weeks and then there was along gap before the rest was completed. It wasn’t a writer’s block, but a phase where I wanted to shut out the world.

Q. How much research do you do?

Not much unless it’s essential. Somehow, the more research I get myself into, the worse the flow of the book becomes.

Q. Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?

No. None at all. I can’t work under stringent rules.

Q. What is the easiest thing about writing? 

It’s your creativity so there’s no one to stop you from saying what you want to say.

Q. What motivates you to write?

I don’t know if it’s motivation or not, but if there’s a thought that starts to play in my mind, I have to write it down. Often these leads up to stories or blog posts.

Q.  When did you decide that you want to be a writer?

Didn’t decide. Clichéd but, “it just happened.”

Q. Where do you write from?

Home.

You can check out the Book Review I wrote

THE WORKING REGIME

Q. What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?

When someone creates, then the creation is his own. But when he gives it out for the world to judge there’s bound to be good or bad reviews. Everyone doesn’t like everything. An author has to take it in his stride. However, personal attack on the author while doing a review is not ethical.

Q. What do you prefer: Pen or Computer? And how do you stay organised (any methods, systems, tools you use)?

Actually my phone. It’s smaller and more compact. Somehow it keeps my thoughts in order. I usually type on my phone. My only organizing tool is the phone reminder. There are thousands of them. If I don’t set a reminder I forget.

Q. How do you relax?

Making the little one do her homework! Jokes apart, I like to create craft items with junk lying about at home, swim, eat chocolate cake and whatsapp chat with close friends.

Q. How did you find your agent? 

Google!

Q. What were your few biggest learning experience(s) or surprise(s) throughout the publishing process?

The only learning was that people love free books. They will spend thousands over beer or at the parlour, but won’t buy! Pity!

Q. What would you have done differently if you could do it again?

I would have made the cover different because that didn’t go down well with the readers.

Q. Something personal about you people may be surprised to know?

I can both read and write Bengali! (I say this because whenever I tell someone this, you should see how their eyes become big! But c’mon, am I not supposed to? I’m a Bong!)

Q. What’s next? What are you working on at the moment? 

The next romance has been penned down and is scheduled for release in June/ July. The one after that is half way through as well.

THE READING PART

Q. Do you re-read books? One book that you would read again & again?

Nope, I don’t re-read. The only exception has been Satyajit Ray’s ‘Feluda‘ series (the Bengali version of it).

Q. Your influence(s)/ favourite author(s)?

I like Danielle Steele, Sophie Kinsella and Satyajit Ray.

Q. What book(s) are you reading at present?

I just started reading Sachin Garg’s ‘We Need a Revolution.’

Q. Best piece(s) of writing advice we haven’t discussed?

Write what you like writing about and not because your ‘favourite author’ does it or ‘the genre is selling’. At the end of the day, when you have finished writing, there should be a smile on your face. The rest will all fall into place.

Q. Website(s)?

I blog at www.lovewordie.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Author Interview: Aditi Bose”

Any thoughts?

