blog

I Took A Short Break From Everything

As you might have failed to noticed, I took a short break from the blog. It started when things were going a little over my head at the end of month before the previous month and I thought, I am done, with everything. I did not take a vacation to some destination. I mostly stayed home. I did some things, which I generally don’t do and won’t be planning to do anytime in future.

This morning I woke up and decided, I am ready. Thus, I am writing this.

During this span of almost 46 days, I wasn’t roaming on a beach with a paperback in my hand. I was spending the time with myself without a paperback, focusing on some aspects of life, going through some actions I never planned to perform, thus depleting myself of “time to wonder” to write about.

During this short span, one important thing I realised is that taking care of yourself is the most important thing you can do for yourself. Shut those voices of hypocritical altruists who at some point, might have told you that it is selfish to think about yourself. Slap them on their faces to make them shut, in your mind palace. Focusing on and taking care of ourselves needs to be an ever-present part of our every day life.

I also rearranged my books, which I seldom do, got a job offer that I rejected, broke my phone and abandoned my Kindle for sake of reading printed words.

Apart from that, for the love reading, I managed to read some books out of which one is full of researches on the fuss about WillPowerThe Willpower Instinct by Kelly McGonigal and the other one is a very thought provoking  book: Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand.

It took me a month to read Atlas Shrugged. Yes, its deep. Yes, its thought provoking and yes, it did change the way I think. (More on Atlas Shrugged, later.) After reading it, you certainly won’t be asking yourself, Who is John Galt?

 

32 thoughts on “I Took A Short Break From Everything”

  1. No wonder I didn’t have any posts from you in my reader. Spending ‘me’ time is one of the best ways to unburden and lose what’s not supposed to be.
    Yes, I’m with you on the whole ‘look after yourself first’ theory. And slap them (probably on the back) who disagree. 😛 Delighted to see a more sorted and refreshed you back. Welcome!

    Like

  2. oh, same with me. I broke my phone too, stop reading ebook for awhile. Sometimes, I take some days off from work and go travel, either alone or with my friends.
    Anyway, I’m glad that you’re back 🙂

    Like

  3. Self-awareness is healthy, self-indulgence not so much. Some people can’t seem to tell the difference and question why we all need to turn inward from time to time. I suspect it’s because they want or need our attention for their self. Thanks for liking my post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for this post…makes me realize that I need a break too.. I have a blog yeah but I am not good at blogging… I need to think about what I really want…blog or write a new book..also I must not neglect my family…well wish you all the best with blogging…enjoy 🌹

    Like

  5. Dear Aman,

    as one of your readers during these past six months, I am glad to see a post from you after a while. I am not suprised by its content – commiting to anything on a daily or weekly basis (even a blog) is always difficult. I am glad your back, and I am glad you took a brake. As a wise man from my country once said (loose translation): “People should understand that I must sometimes take myself away from them, so that I may truly/fully give myself to them later.”

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts?

