blog, Book Reviews, Books, Non-Fiction

Week #1: What I #Read this Week? 

The first week of the new year started with some variations that I didn’t know it would have for me. It was like a sine wave (if you know what I mean, if you don’t you can check it here), this week. Well,  what does it matter,  we are not here to discuss it, instead, we are here to talk about books you and me both read this week.

One thing I’d like to say is that this year I am again taking part in Hindustan Times‘s magazine, HTBrunch: #BrunchBookChallenge (a reading challenge). First time when I did it, was in 2014. However, it’s a bit different this year. One has to read 36 books as compared to 24 in the previous one and out of 36 books there has to be at least 6 titles written by Indian Origin authors which personally I think will help ms explore Indian writers. Here is the link to full set of rules you have to keep in mind while taking this challenge. I am done with four books out of 36 including one Indian Origin writer Siddhartha Mukherjee and his lastly published book The Gene: An intimate history.

Mukherjee talks tries to decipher the code that forms us and our habits in through a story. He does succeeds in that. In this book, he talks about Darwin’s Theory of Evolution and how it intersects Mendel’s idea of heredity. The Nazi eugenics of 1940s and post war transformation. This book is well researched  but too technical for me.

Second book I read this week is about being imperfect and to continue to cultivate our lives and work with courage, compassion and connection. I am talking about Brene Brown’s The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be ans Embrace Who You Are. The whole idea of book revolves around is that at the end of the day we are vulnerable and no matter how anxious we get, we’ll still be. Instead,  embrace it. One thing I learned from this book and will like to highlight is: With pain and suffering comes joy and happiness. They both are connected and without one pair a person cannot acknowledge the other. 

Two other books I read this week are Seth Godin’s Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? & Five Bold Choices by Jay Coughlan and Larry Julian.

I observed after reading Brene’s The Gift of Imperfections, reading Godin’s Linchpin continues to develop chain of thoughts that are sown as seeds in the mind of a reader by Brown. Both authors talk about uncertainty and both offer suggestions on how to embrace it. I recommend Godin’s Linchpin it talks about more than uncertainty

So, that has been my week. I am looking to hear from you, what did you read this week? Please, comment below.


Do you want to talk about books? Ping me on Goodreads | Facebook | Medium | Twitter

3 thoughts on “Week #1: What I #Read this Week? ”

  1. I’m interested in reading Mukherjee’s Emperor of All Maladies, which I bought sometime last year. Don’t know when I’ll start it though.
    The message you highlighted from Brene Brown’s book makes me think of the balance between good n evil n whether one can really exist without the other. It’s something I sometimes think about when considering heaven n my religion so that message just made my mind go there.
    What I read this week/am reading: The Witches by Stacy Schiff, a history book about the Salem witch trials; Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed, which composed several of the advice columns Strayed wrote as Dear Sugar.

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts?

