Book List, Books, Fiction, science fiction

3 Books Like “The Martian”

If  you enjoyed and lol’ed (in some places) while reading Andy Weir‘s (see Andy Weir’s interviewThe Martian (read book review here), the story of an astronaut Mark Watney, who struggles to survive, alone on the red planet. Maybe, you’d watched the movie directed by Ridley Scott, in which Matt Damon portray’s Mark Watney. Maybe, you just more of the red planet. Whichever the case is, you’d want to take a look at these books.

Moving Mars by Greg Bear

Blurb: Moving Mars is a story of human courage and love set within the greater saga of a planetary liberation movement. Mars is a colonial world, governed by corporate interests on Earth.

No Man Friday by Rex Gordon

Blurb: Quite Similar to The Maitian, but is more adventurous.

The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury

Blurb: In The Martian Chronicles, Ray Bradbury, America’s preeminent storyteller, imagines a place of hope, dreams, and metaphor; of crystal pillars and fossil seas, where a fine dust settles on the great empty cities of a vanished, devastated civilization.


Are you on Facebook? Would you like to receive new posts in your Facebook feed? Hit the LIKE BUTTON HERE!

Do you want to talk about books? Ping me on Goodreads! or Twitter!

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “3 Books Like “The Martian””

  1. I love the Bradbury! Very different in tone from “The Martian”, but definitely a classic.

    Did you read “Artemis”? Fans have been divided, but I really enjoyed it. Ultimately, it was about the father-daughter relationship, and that touched me. Also, lots of snark and cool tech!

    Like

    1. I haven’t read Artemis. I want to pick it but the TBR pile sitting on my desk is saying no. But I will ignore that pile some time soon and will definitely take peek. Thanks for the insight. I love the tech.

      I once interviewed Andy Weir and at that time I did not know he and me share the similar interests.

      Like

Any thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s