Books, Guest Post

GUEST POST: Marianna’s Five Favourite Books

“Picking five favorite books is like picking the five body parts you’d most like not to lose.” – Neil Gaiman

OK. Five books? Really? Out of the hundred I read this year alone…I know it is a little bit extreme but what is life without challenges!
Hello guys and welcome to the countdown of my five favorite books that I have read through the years. I will try to give you as much information about each novel without any spoilers. This is after all a wormbook-friendly post.
Shall we begin?

Continue reading “GUEST POST: Marianna’s Five Favourite Books”

Advertisements
Book List, Books, Fiction

Fiction Books to Read This Spring and Summer

I recently got my hands on Buzz Books 2017 Spring and Summer edition. After reading many excerpts, I am excited to share some titles that I am eagerly looking to read this year. Yet, I might not be able to read and finish all of them, the sole purpose of sharing these titles right now is that if you decide to read any of them, I hope to read your views on them.

Continue reading “Fiction Books to Read This Spring and Summer”

Book List, Books, Fiction, science fiction

Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Read in March 2017

Chalk by Paul Cornell

Continue reading “Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Read in March 2017”

Book List, Book Reviews, Books, Fiction, science fiction

Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Read in February 2017

Will 2017 be the year we finally get our hands on The Winds of Winter? I am eagerly waiting for it and I am sure you excited too. Thus, while we both wait for George R. R. Martin to finally disagree with Game of Thrones TV show’s producers and to show gratitude towards the thirst of his fans and readers, we still have plenty to read and crave for in particular genre of science fiction as well as fantasy.

Continue reading “Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Read in February 2017”

Authors, Book List, Book Reviews, Books, Fiction

Top Fiction Books I Read in 2016

Once again, I am offering you a number of books I enjoyed reading last year in a broader sense of a genre: Fiction.

Stoner by John Williams

A fascinating, fast, elegant read. William Stoner and we all have something in common.

Read Full Review

Continue reading “Top Fiction Books I Read in 2016”

5 Stars, Authors, Book List, Books, Non-Fiction, philosophy, Reviews, Stoic Philosophy

Top NonFiction Books I Read in 2016 Part 1

As this year is closing down, I have decided to produce some lists under the title “Read in 2016” for you such that would have more trouble managing your TBR lists next year (*grin*). More titles to add to you to-read lists. Well that’s the whole intention of all book lists such as the Top Tens, and the Top Fives, of the year, to introduce you to books that , are the chances, you might have not read and I will try every ounce to convince to at least take look at the titles over Goodreads.com or Amazon and may be, add to your wishlist/TBR/to-read list.

Continue reading “Top NonFiction Books I Read in 2016 Part 1”

Book List

A Half Yearly Reading List

Half of the year has gone, and we have our noses inside the books we are reading and our thoughts mingling around the books we want to read. 2016 has not been so much of a reading year for me as 2015 was. But I have read some good books and few great ones too. Thus, I am compiling a list of books that I have read this year and would like to share with you. Worth taking a look:

Continue reading “A Half Yearly Reading List”

Book List, Books, Fiction, science fiction

4 CyberPunk Books To Read

Cyberpunk first came into existence around late 1970s. This particular type of genre share its boundaries with science-fiction from the start and hasn’t shy away from development during the time. In terms of books, these are titles you should take look:

Neuromancer by William Gibson

Artificial Intelligence in 1980s. Computer who can think and communicate with human beings as well as manipulate them in doing stuff. The story has cyberspace, data-thieves, samurai, assassins. This is 1980s we are talking about.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

This book was first published in 1968 and is still ahead of time. It’s an important piece for the type of genre.

Continue reading “4 CyberPunk Books To Read”

Book List, Books, science fiction

5 SFF Books You Have To Read This Year

The world of science fiction and fantasy is booming and I came across many titles on the internet in the specific genre(s) but only few grabbed my attention.

This Census-Taker by China Miéville

Blurb:  After witnessing a profoundly traumatic event, a boy is left alone in a remote house on a hilltop with his increasingly deranged parent. When a stranger knocks on his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation are over—but by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? Is he the boy’s friend? His enemy? Or something altogether other?

Arcadia by Ian Pears

Blurb: Henry Lytten – a spy turned academic and writer – sits at his desk in Oxford in 1962, dreaming of other worlds. He embarks on the story of Jay, an eleven-year-old boy who has grown up within the embrace of his family in a rural, peaceful world – a kind of Arcadia. But when a supernatural vision causes Jay to question the rules of his world, he is launched on a life-changing journey. Lytten also imagines a different society, highly regulated and dominated by technology, which is trying to master the science of time travel. Meanwhile – in the real world – one of Lytten’s former intelligence colleagues tracks him down for one last assignment. As he and his characters struggle with questions of free will, love, duty and the power of the imagination, Lytten discovers he is not sure how he wants his stories to end, nor even who is imaginary… 

Continue reading “5 SFF Books You Have To Read This Year”

Book List, Books

Three Books to read from Net Galley

We all know NetGalley.com offers superb titles for readers from writers and publishers across the world. I have been following NetGalley.com for quite a time but have failed to read a single title and review it in past few weeks. But I love going through the new titles and their elegant book covers. Here are three books publishing this month that you should go check and read from NetGalley.com.

The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone

For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, meet debut author’s Max Wirestone character Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she’s not living her best life. But that’s all about to change.

The Clasp by Sloane Crosley

Part comedy of manners, part treasure hunt, another debut novel, looks promising and I am definitely going to get my hands on it.

Al the Things We Never Knew by Sheila Hamilton

All the Things We Never Knew takes readers from David and Sheila’s romance through the last three months of their life together and into the year after his death. It details their unsettling descent from ordinary life into the world of mental illness, and examines the fragile line between reality and madness.